top of page

Newly Released Juvenile Fiction Books


It's that time of year again! New juvenile fiction books have been published and adopted into our Leon Valley Public Library collection. Below are some new titles we have selected to highlight:



Zach Darlington saved the world from total apocalypse and all he got was grounded.

He’s not even allowed to watch his favorite horror movies anymore, and now his

parents want to ship him off to boarding school! But before Zach can talk some sense

into his parents, his little sister, Naomi, lands in an unexplainable coma.


Zach’s friend Ash (yep, Zach and the King of Demons are friends now) knows this was the work of Ash’s eternal nemesis, the Archangel Uriel. And the only way to revive

Naomi is with the fruit from the Tree of Life. Yeah, that tree. Like, from the actual Garden

of Eden. Zach and his friends will have to face terrifying angels, monsters, and a

serpent to get to the tree and save Naomi’s life. He just hopes he won’t be grounded till

the end of time if they ever make it back.




For fans of Sisters and Netflix’s The Baby-sitter’s Club, a contemporary series for the siblings who always come in last. Santana Barnes is tired of playing second fiddle to her ballet protégé, honor student older sister Victoria. Casey Hammond is sick of her cute-as-a-button, adventurous little sister Sage, who steals all of their dad’s attention.


When the girls meet in their middle school library, they learn they have a lot in common: they both love reading, hate after-school activities, and most important, are clearly their parents’ second-favorite children. Together, they create the Second Favorite Daughters Club. The members? Just the two of them. The mission? To become their parents' favorite children by undermining their love-hoarding siblings.


But is it possible to cheat your way to becoming your parents’ favorite kid? Bestselling author Colleen Oakes’s middle-grade debut, Sister Sabotage is a celebration of friendship and family in all its challenging forms, and a reminder that there’s no one way to stand out.




A hilarious middle-grade from Justin A. Reynolds that asks: What happens when five unsupervised kids face the apocalypse under outrageously silly circumstances?

When twelve-year-old Eddie Gordon Holloway and his friends are left home from Beach Bash, aka the greatest party of the year, only to realize that everyone in town has disappeared without a trace, they do what any smart, responsible kids would do . . . have the best day ever!


No parental supervision sounds fun for a while, but forever is a long time. And soon the gang starts to notice strange things happening around town, and they're only getting stranger. They have to figure out what happened to their families. It seems like getting to the beach will answer all their questions . . . but the only problem is that some mysterious force seems determined to prevent them from making it there.


Eddie knows that this is a clear sign -- obviously they should be focused on having as much fun as possible for as long as possible. But everyone deals with the fear differently, and soon the friendships begin to fracture. Can Eddie find a way to get all his friends on the same page? And will they ever make it to the beach?





In this stand-alone novel with themes of friendship and family, twelve-year-old Elsby discovers a family of talking cats living in the house next door and must help them harness the magic that made them that way. From the author of the acclaimed Coo, The Cats of Silver Crescent is for fans of Kathi Appelt and Katherine Applegate.


With her mother busy traveling for work, Elsby isn't thrilled to be spending a few weeks with her great-aunt Verity. Luckily, she has her notebook and a lush garden to sketch to help pass the time. But a visitor takes Elsby by surprise: a cat standing on its two hind legs and dressed like a sailor dashes across the garden and into the neighboring woods!


Elsby can't believe her eyes, and she can't imagine that Aunt Verity would believe her, either. But that night, the cat and three of his cat companions approach Elsby. They need Elsby's help. While the cats can talk, think, and behave like humans, the magical spell that made them that way will revert if it's not renewed soon. Elsby might be the only one who can save them--but every enchantment comes at a price.


A contemporary fantasy about family, friends, trust, and the magic that's inside everyone, The Cats of Silver Crescent will captivate animal lovers and fans of Jenn Reese's A Game of Fox & Squirrels




When precocious eleven-year-old Sophie sets out to save her elderly neighbor (who is also her dearest friend), her journey will take her through their familiar suburban landscape and then, steadily yet unexpectedly, deeper into a landscape of history and shared stories.


Everyone knows the two Sophies are best friends. One is in elementary school, and one is...well...in a little trouble of late. She's elderly, sure, but she's always been on her game, the best friend any girl struggling to fit in could ever have. The Sophies drink tea, have strong opinions about pretty much everything, and love each other dearly.


Now it seems the elder Sophie is having memory problems, burning teakettles, and forgetting just about everything. It looks like her son is going to come and get her and steal her away forever. Young Sophie isn't having that. Not one bit. So she sets out to help elder Sophie's memory, with the aid of her neighborhood friends Ralphie and Oliver. But when she opens the floodgates of elder Sophie's memories, she winds up listening to stories that will illustrate just how much there is to know about her dear friend, stories of war, hunger, cruelty, and ultimately love.



Down at the bottom of the tall buildings of New York City, Magnolia Wu sits inside her parents' laundromat. She has pinned every lost sock from the laundromat onto a bulletin board in hopes that customers will return to retrieve them. But no one seems to have noticed. In fact, barely anyone has noticed Magnolia at all.


What she doesn't know is that this is about to be her most exciting summer yet. When Iris, a new friend from California arrives, they set off across the city to solve the mystery of each missing sock, asking questions in subways and delis and plant stores and pizzerias, meeting people and uncovering the unimaginable.


With each new encounter, Magnolia learns that when you're bold enough to head into the unknown, things start falling into place.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page